Fort Name :  Alphabetically RangeWise DistrictWise CategoryWise GradeWise

Ambagad FortHeight : 1500
Type : Hill forts Fort Range : Ambagad
District : Bhandara Grade : Medium
      This scenic but unknown fort is located in the Tumsar taluka of Bhandara district, 100 kms from Nagpur. The fort is well maintained to this present day and proper stairs are built for easy access.
28 Photos available for this fort
History :
      Rajkhan Pathan who was the commander of the Gaund king Bakht Buland, built this fort in 1700 A.D. further when this fort was under the control of the Bhosales of Nagpur it was used as a prison.
Fascinating Spots :

      The stairs lead us to the fort entrance in about 30 minutes time. The north facing entrance stands hidden between two big bastions. There are porches built in the entrance and one can see a leaf of Pipal tree and a Lotus carved on it. Once we enter the doorway there are stairs from the porch leading up to the bastion which enables to keep a watch on nearby area and inside the fort complex. Heading back after descending from the bastion there is a small temple aside a pathway. This temple has a stone covered with vermilion. It seems this temple was built in recent times. There is also a broken piece of a limestone mixer lying here. From this point proceed to the right towards the fortification wall. Moving on the platform of the wall we come across 2 semi-circle shaped bastions. As the way ahead is blocked, head back from where you started near the porch. On the pathway which leads inside the fort, there is a well to the left and to right there is a built in pond which has a damaged structure. Moving ahead on the wall platform there are three more bastions and further a fourth bastion after climbing few steps. To the right of this fourth bastion there is a crescent shaped built pond with steps in it. Besides this pond there is an entrance to the structure. This structure might have been a two storeyed building. After we climb the second floor there is an arched structure to the left with no windows. This must be a place to store arms and ammunitions. To its right there is a well with steps in it. To the upper side of the steps there is a umbrella shaped dome built. Besides this is the fortified wall which comes through the fort entrance.

Going back to the main pathway and heading towards the citadel of the fort there are two semi-circle shaped bastions to the left. The four bastions inside the citadel are square shaped. Inside the bastion which is to the edge of the fort there is a room. We can exit the bastion and fort from this room. Going back to the fort premise and crossing the empty ground in the middle, one has to cross the wall where there are remains of a structure. Further there is another wall structure with carvings on it. Where this wall ends there is a square shaped bastion with a secret door in it. The stairs in this bastion take us out of the fort where there is a path to descend the fort.
Ways To Reach :
      1. Nagpur - Jamb gaon - Rampur is 92 kms distance and the Lord Hanuman temple at the fort can be reached by any vehicle.

Another route to reach Ambagad is, from the junction in Jambgaon village half a kilometer on the road going to the left we come across a canal. From this canal an unpaved path to the right goes to Ambagad. This route is to be avoided in the rainy season.

2. 94 km route of Nagpur Usarra Rampur Ambagad.
Accommodation Facility :
Available in the Hanuman temple at the base.
Food Facility :
Drinking Water Facility :
Time To Reach :
      30 minutes from the base temple
Best Season To Visit :
      All round the year
Marathi Version   Print

Forts of Category: Hill forts
 Aad  Achala  Aguada  Ahivant
 Ajinkyatara  Ajmera  Ajoba  Alang
 Ambagad  Anghai  Anjaneri  Ankai
 Arjungad  Asherigad  Aundha  Avchitgad
 Ballalgad  Balwantgad  Banda Fort  Bankot
 Barvai  Bhagwantgad  Bhairavgad(kothale)  Bhairavgad(Moroshi)
 Bhandardurg  Bhangsigad(Bhangsi mata gad)  Bharatgad  Bhaskargad
 Bhavangad  Bhavanigad  Bhilai Fort  Bhimashankar
 Bhivagad  Bhivgad(Bhimgad)  Bhorgiri  Bhudargad
 Bhupalgad (Banurgad)  Bhupatgad  Bhushangad  Birwadi
 Bishta  Bitangad  Chambhargad  Chandan-Vandan
 Chanderi  Chandragad to Arthur seat  Chandragad(Dhavalgad)  Chapora Fort
 Chaulher  Chavand  Darya Ghat  Dasgaon Fort
 Dategad  Daulatmangal  Dehergad (Bhorgad)  Dermal
 Devgiri (Daulatabad)  Dhak-Bahiri  Dhakoba  Dharavi Fort
 Dharmapuri  Dubergad(Dubera)  Dundha  Durg
 Durg Dhakoba  Gadgada (Ghargad)  Gagangad  Galna
 Gambhirgad  Gandharvgad  Gavilgad  Ghangad
 Gharapuri  Ghodbunder Fort  Ghosalgad  Ghotawada Fort (Gotara)
 Gopalgad  Gorakhgad  Gorakhgad(Manmad)  Gowalkot
 Gunawantgad  Hadsar  Hanumantgad(Nimgiri)  Hanumantgad(Sindhudurg)
 Hargad  Harihar  Harishchandragad  Hatgad
 Hatkeshwar to Lenyadri  Honnur Fort  Indragad  Indrai
 Irshalgad  Jangli Jaigad  Janjala (Vaishagad)  Jawlya
 Jivdhan  Kailasgad  Kakati Fort  Kaladgad
 Kalanidhigad (Kalanandigad)  Kaldurg  Kalsubai  Kalyangad(Nandgiri)
 Kamalgad  Kamandurg  Kanchan  Kanhergad(Nashik)
 Kankrala  Karha  Karnala  Katra
 Kavnai  Kenjalgad  Khairai  Kharepatan fort
 Kohoj  Kokandiva  Koldurg  Kolkewadi
 Kondhavi  Korigad  Kulang  Kunjargad(Kombadgad)
 Kurdugad  Laling  Lingana  Lohgad
 Madangad  Mahadevgad  Mahimangad  Mahimatgad
 Mahipalgad  Mahipatgad  Mahuli  Malanggad
 Malhargad  Mandangad  Mangad  Mangalgad
 Mangi-Tungi  Manikdurg  Manikpunj  Manjarsubha Fort
 Markandeya  Mirgad(Songir)  Mohandar(Shidaka)  Mohangad
 Moragad  Mordhan  Morgiri  Mrugagad
 Mulher  Nagardhan  Nagla Bunder Fort  Naneghat
 Narayangad  Narayangad(Amboli)  Narnala  Nhavigad
 Nimgiri  Nivati Fort  Pabargad  Pachhapur Fort
 Padargad  Padmadurg ( Kasa Killa)  Pal Fort  Palashi Fort
 Palgad  Pandavgad  Panhaledurg  Panhalekaji Fort
 Panhalgad  Pardi Fort  Pargad  Parnera Fort
 Parvatgad  Pateshwar  Peb  Pemgiri(Shahagad)
 Peth (Kothaligad)  Piliv Fort  Pimpla  Pimplas Kot
 Pisol  Plus Valley  Prabalgad  Pratapgad
 Premgiri  Purandar  Raigad  Raikot
 Raireshwar  Rajapur Fort (British warehouse)  Rajdeher  Rajdher
 Rajgad  Rajhansgad (Yellur Fort)  Rajmachi  Ramdurg
 Ramgad  Ramshej  Ramtek  Ranjangiri
 Rasalgad  Ratangad  Ratangad(Ratnadurg)  Ratnadurg
 Rawlya  Rawlya - Jawlya  Riwa Fort  Rohida
 Rohilgad  Sada Fort  Sadashivgad  Sagargad
 Sajjangad  Salher  Salota  Samangad
 Samrajgad  Sandan Valley - Karoli Ghat  Santoshgad  Saptashrungi
 Sarasgad  Sewri Fort  Shivgad  Shivneri
 ShivtharGhal  Siddhagad (Malvan)  Sidhhagad  Sinhagad
 Sitabuldi fort(Sitabardi Fort)  Sondai  Songad  Songir (Dhule)
 Songir (Karjat)  Songiri (near Roha)  Sudhagad  Sumargad
 Tahuli  Takmak  Talgad  Tandulwadi
 Terekhol Fort  Thalner  Tikona  Torna
 Trimbakgad  Tringalwadi  Tung  Umberkhind
 Vairatgad  Vajragad (Vasai)  Vallabhgad(Hargapur)  Vardhangad
 Varugad  Vasantgad  Vetalgad  Vetalwadi Gad
 Vilasgad (Mallikarjun)  Visapur  Yashawantgad (Redi Fort)  Yashwantgad(Nate)