Fort Name :  Alphabetically RangeWise DistrictWise CategoryWise GradeWise

Trimbakgad FortHeight : 4200
Type : Hill forts Fort Range : Trimbakeshwar
District : Nashik Grade : Medium
      This mountain range of Trimbak falls to the West of Nashik district and North of Igatpuri. In the first stage of this hill range we can find Basgad fort, Utwad, Fanicha dongar, Harihar fort and the second range has Bramhagiri, Anjaneri, Ghargad forts. In the ancient times one of the trade routes from Maharashtra to Gujarat used to pass through this hill range and Bramhagiri fort was built for its protection. Since the medieval period this fort has been unconquered. This fort is well known for one of the 12 Jyotirlingas of Lord Shiva which is called as Trimbakeshwar.
6 Photos available for this fort
Fascinating Spots :

      The top summit of this fort is a large plateau. Once you reach here continue walking towards the small raised hill which is seen afar. While we are on the trail, one path goes to the left towards a cave named “Siddhagufa”. Continuing on the path ahead we come across a diversion. Take the right one to reach a temple in 15 minutes. This is the spot from where the river Godavari originates. After seeing this proceed to the path on the left which takes us to another temple in 10 minutes. It was here that Lord Shiva made Godavari River to land on our Earth by lashing his long strands of hair. There are remnants of structures on the fort. Anjaneri and Harihar forts can be seen from the top.
Ways To Reach :
      Reach Gangadwar in Trimbakeshwar village. From the stairs which start here a path goes to the left which takes us to another set of stairs and further up the fort via rock cut caves.
Accommodation Facility :
      Available at base village.
Food Facility :
      Available at base village.
Drinking Water Facility :
      Available in the water tanks on the fort.
Time To Reach :
      1.5 hrs from Trimbakeshwar temple.
Marathi Version   Print

Forts in the District of Nashik
 Aad  Achala  Ahivant  Ajmera
 Alang  Anjaneri  Ankai  Aundha
 Bhaskargad  Bishta  Bitangad  Chaulher
 Dehergad (Bhorgad)  Dermal  Dubergad(Dubera)  Dundha
 Gadgada (Ghargad)  Galna  Gorakhgad(Manmad)  Hargad
 Harihar  Hatgad  Indrai  Jawlya
 Kanchan  Kanhergad  Kankrala  Karha
 Katra  Kavnai  Khairai  Kulang
 Madangad  Malegaon Fort  Mangi-Tungi  Manikpunj
 Markandeya  Mohandar(Shidaka)  Moragad  Mordhan
 Mulher  Nhavigad  Pisol  Premgiri
 Rajdeher  Rajdher  Ramshej  Ranjangiri
 Rawlya  Rawlya - Jawlya  Salher  Salota
 Saptashrungi  Songad  Trimbakgad  Tringalwadi