Fort Name :  Alphabetically RangeWise DistrictWise CategoryWise GradeWise

Vilasgad (Mallikarjun) FortHeight : 3060
Type : Hill forts Fort Range : Mallikarjun
District : Sangli Grade : Medium
      Vilasgad fort is near Yede Nipani village in Sangli district. But this fort is known by the name of Mallikarjun in the nearby region as there is a temple of Lord Mallikarjun on the fort.

The stretch of the fort is huge and a vast expanse of nearby region is visible from the fort. But there are not any major structures visible on the fort thus the main purpose of the fort must have been for watch keeping purpose.

Vilasgad is about 343 kms from Mumbai. Even though it is in Sangli district, it is hardly 38 kms from Kolhapur. Along with Vilasgad, Macchindragad and Bahadurwadi Gadhi can be visited in a single day.
22 Photos available for this fort
Vilasgad (Mallikarjun)
Fascinating Spots :

      Proper concrete steps and a tar road is built till the fort base. In about 30 minutes by taking the steps we reach at the Mallikarjun temple. Just before the temple there is a structure which has two arches. The temple has a fortified wall and an entrance door. After entering there can be seen two lamp posts at the right and a storage area next to it. Opposite the lamp posts there is temple of Lord Bhairavnath and chamber next to it. Inside the chamber we can see a cave converted into a store room and stands on two pillars. Next to the chamber there is a temple of Lord Mallikarjun which is built in a cave and supported by 5 pillars. After we exit the temple, in the ground floor of the chamber there is a Nandi idol and carvings of flowers can be seen on roof. There are stairs outside to access the chamber.

After visiting the temple take the left exit. Here we can find a limestone churner and its wheel has been buried in ground. Near to this there are steps which go up to the summit in 5 minutes. As we come to the summit there is a shade and under it are idols of Vitthal-Rukmini. Besides this shade, there is an ancient temple of Lord Krishna on a platform and is in a dilapidated. The crown of the temple is built in bricks. There aren’t any idols inside the temple. We can see two shrines opposite the temple and there is a small room below one of the shrines. In front of the shrines there is a shrine of Hazrat Chaand Bukhari. The sevaks or servers of this shrine belong to the Jadhav family since last seven generations. The two shrines opposite here belong to the members of the Jadhav family as it is being said.

Every year on the holy day of Mahashivratri there is a festival here. Ahead of the shrine there is a 12X10 ft rock structure with two arched doors on its two sides. Next to the structure there is a pond which was used for horses. Further to the pond there is eastern edge of the fort from where the route descends to the ridge. After this, head back towards the Krishna temple. There is a path which leads to the western edge of the fort. 5 minutes trail on this path takes us near a large water pipe and the route descends after this. There is a small temple structure here towards which we have to descend, and we come across rock cut steps first and then the temple structure. There is Shiv Linga inside here and opposite to it is a rock cut water tank with steps in it. To the east from the top, we can see Macchindragad fort.
Ways To Reach :
      To reach Vilasgad following route on Mumbai-Kolhapur highway can be taken: Peth naka – Kameri village – Yedenipani. After Yedenipani the hill of Mallikarjun stands at 4 kms. Proper steps are built for its access.
Accommodation Facility :
      The temple on the fort can accommodate up to 25 people.
Food Facility :
Drinking Water Facility :
      Available on the fort.
Time To Reach :
      45 mins from base
Best Season To Visit :
      All round the year
Marathi Version   Print

Forts of Category: Hill forts
 Aad  Achala  Ahivant  Ajinkyatara
 Ajmera  Ajoba  Alang  Anjaneri
 Ankai  Arjungad  Asherigad  Aundha
 Avchitgad  Ballalgad  Balwantgad  Banda Fort
 Bankot  Barvai  Bhagwantgad  Bhairavgad(kothale)
 Bhairavgad(Moroshi)  Bhandardurg  Bhangsigad(Bhangsi mata gad)  Bharatgad
 Bhaskargad  Bhavangad  Bhavanigad  Bhimashankar
 Bhivgad(Bhimgad)  Bhorgiri  Bhudargad  Bhupalgad (Banurgad)
 Bhupatgad  Bhushangad  Birwadi  Bishta
 Bitangad  Chambhargad  Chandan-Vandan  Chanderi
 Chandragad to Arthur seat  Chandragad(Dhavalgad)  Chaulher  Chavand
 Dasgaon Fort  Dategad  Daulatmangal  Dehergad (Bhorgad)
 Dermal  Devgiri (Daulatabad)  Dhak-Bahiri  Dhakoba
 Dharavi Fort  Dharmapuri  Dubergad(Dubera)  Dundha
 Durg  Durg Dhakoba  Gadgada (Ghargad)  Gagangad
 Galna  Gambhirgad  Gandharvgad  Gavilgad
 Ghangad  Gharapuri  Ghodbunder Fort  Ghosalgad
 Ghotawada Fort (Gotara)  Gopalgad  Gorakhgad  Gorakhgad(Manmad)
 Gowalkot  Gunawantgad  Hadsar  Hanumantgad
 Hanumantgad(Nimgiri)  Hargad  Harihar  Harishchandragad
 Hatgad  Hatkeshwar to Lenyadri  Honnur Fort  Indragad
 Indrai  Irshalgad  Jangli Jaigad  Janjala (Vaishagad)
 Jawlya  Jivdhan  Kailasgad  Kakati Fort
 Kaladgad  Kalanidhigad (Kalanandigad)  Kaldurg  Kalsubai
 Kalyangad(Nandgiri)  Kamalgad  Kamandurg  Kanchan
 Kanhergad  Kankrala  Karha  Karnala
 Katra  Kavnai  Kenjalgad  Khairai
 Kharepatan fort  Kohoj  Kokandiva  Koldurg
 Kolkewadi  Kondhavi  Korigad  Kulang
 Kunjargad(Kombadgad)  Kurdugad  Laling  Lingana
 Lohgad  Madangad  Mahadevgad  Mahimangad
 Mahimatgad  Mahipalgad  Mahipatgad  Mahuli
 Malanggad  Malhargad  Mandangad  Mangad
 Mangalgad  Mangi-Tungi  Manikdurg  Manikpunj
 Markandeya  Mirgad(Songir)  Mohandar(Shidaka)  Mohangad
 Moragad  Mordhan  Morgiri  Mrugagad
 Mulher  Nagardhan  Nagla Bunder Fort  Naneghat
 Narayangad  Narayangad(Amboli)  Narnala  Nhavigad
 Nimgiri  Nivati Fort  Pabargad  Pachhapur Fort
 Padargad  Padmadurg ( Kasa Killa)  Palashi Fort  Palgad
 Pandavgad  Panhaledurg  Panhalekaji Fort  Panhalgad
 Pardi Fort  Pargad  Parvatgad  Pateshwar
 Peb  Pemgiri(Shahagad)  Peth (Kothaligad)  Piliv Fort
 Pimplas Kot  Pisol  Plus Valley  Prabalgad
 Pratapgad  Premgiri  Purandar  Raigad
 Raikot  Raireshwar  Rajapur Fort (British warehouse)  Rajdeher
 Rajdher  Rajgad  Rajhansgad (Yellur Fort)  Rajmachi
 Ramdurg  Ramgad  Ramshej  Ramtek
 Ranjangiri  Rasalgad  Ratangad  Ratangad(Ratnadurg)
 Ratnadurg  Rawlya  Rawlya - Jawlya  Riwa Fort
 Rohida  Rohilgad  Sada Fort  Sadashivgad
 Sagargad  Sajjangad  Salher  Salota
 Samangad  Samrajgad  Sandan Valley - Karoli Ghat  Santoshgad
 Saptashrungi  Sarasgad  Sewri Fort  Shivgad
 Shivneri  ShivtharGhal  Siddhagad (Malvan)  Sinhagad
 Sondai  Songad  Songir (Dhule)  Songir (Karjat)
 Songiri (near Roha)  Sudhagad  Sumargad  Tahuli
 Takmak  Talgad  Tandulwadi  Terekhol Fort
 Thalner  Tikona  Torna  Trimbakgad
 Tringalwadi  Tung  Umberkhind  Vairatgad
 Vajragad (Vasai)  Vallabhgad(Hargapur)  Vardhangad  Varugad
 Vasantgad  Vetalgad  Vetalwadi Gad  Vilasgad (Mallikarjun)
 Visapur  Yashawantgad (Redi Fort)  Yashwantgad(Nate)