Forum Home Forum Home > General News > Western Ghats Update
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Western Ghats a UNESCO Site
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Western Ghats a UNESCO Site

 Post Reply Post Reply
harshalmahajan View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Joined: 10 Jun 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 170
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote harshalmahajan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Western Ghats a UNESCO Site
    Posted: 03 Jul 2012 at 10:19pm

Western Ghats  -  India's 1600-km long eco-sensitive along with west coast of India have been added into the coveted list of prestigious United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization's (UNESCO's) world heritage sites.

The Western Ghats have been recognized as one of world’s eight “hottest hotspots” of biological diversity. These mountain range is older than the Himalayan range.

According to official website, not the whole Western Ghats but 39 spots have been get recognition from UNESCO as World Heritage Sites in which Kerala has got maximum number of spots (19) followed by 10 in Karnataka, six in Tamil Nadu, and four in Maharashtra.

Following is the list of 39 locations :-

  • ·         Kalakad-Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve
  • ·         Shendurney Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Neyyar Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Peppara Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Kulathupuzha Range
  • ·         Palode Range
  • ·         Periyar Tiger Reserve
  • ·         Ranni Forest Division
  • ·         Konni Forest Division
  • ·         Achankovil Forest Division
  • ·         Srivilliputtur Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Tirunelveli (North) Forest Division (part)
  • ·         Eravikulam National Park (and proposed extension)
  • ·         Grass Hills National Park
  • ·         Karian Shola National Park
  • ·         Karian Shola (part of Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary)
  • ·         Mankulam Range
  • ·         Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Mannavan Shola
  • ·         Silent Valley National Park
  • ·         New Amarambalam Reserved Forest
  • ·         Mukurti National Park
  • ·         Kalikavu Range
  • ·         Attapadi Reserved Forest
  • ·         Pushpagiri Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Brahmagiri Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Talacauvery Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Padinalknad Reserved Forest
  • ·         Kerti Reserved Forest
  • ·         Aralam Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Kudremukh National Park
  • ·         Someshwara Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Someshwara Reserved Forest
  • ·         Agumbe Reserved Forest
  • ·         Balahalli Reserved Forest
  • ·         Kas Plateau
  • ·         Koyna Wildlife Sanctuary
  • ·         Chandoli National Park
  • ·         Radhanagari Wildlife Sanctuary

The ghats  start at the border of Gujarat and Maharashtra and runs through the states of Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala ending at Kanyakumari.  This entire stretch has been packed with different types of flora and fauna.

The decision of including new sites into UNESCO's World Heritage sites has been taken at 36th session in St. Petersburg, Russia.

Edited by harshalmahajan - 03 Jul 2012 at 10:22pm
Back to Top
Sponsored Links

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.03
Copyright ©2001-2015 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.234 seconds.