Fort Name :  Alphabetically RangeWise DistrictWise CategoryWise GradeWise

Shirgaon FortHeight :  -
Type : Coastal Forts Fort Range : Konkan
District : Thane Grade : Easiest
      The fort of Shirgaon is 5 km north of Mahim in Palghar Taluka. Seashore behind the fort is very beautiful, but is lonely as the fort is quite neglected.
26 Photos available for this fort
History :
      In 1739 Marathas won this fort along with the forts of Dahanu, Kelve and Tarapur. It belonged to Portuguese before Marathas. Afterwards in 1818 Britishers captured it like the other forts.
Fascinating Spots :

      The fort of Shirgaon is about 200 feet in length and 150 feet wide. The rampart of fort is 35 feet in height and 10 feet in width. There are four bastions at the four corners of the fort and one at the entrance. Above the entrance there is a nicely built pedestal which reminds us the memorial of Shivaji Maharaj.

To reach the on the rampart and bastions there are steps on the outer side as well as on the inner side of the rampart. Those on the inner side are not in use today.

There is one more entrance at the western rampart of the fort. It is not in use nowadays. From the rampart we see the beautiful seashore.
Ways To Reach :
      From Virar, which is the last station on western railway, board either shuttle or mail to reach Palghar station. From Palghar there are buses after every half an hour running on Satpati road. Take the bus and get down at the “Masjid” stop, which takes about 15 minutes. Auto-rickshaws are also available to reach this stop from Palghar station.
After a walking distance of about 10 minutes we reach base of the fort. There is a school at the base.
Accommodation Facility :
      Complete fort can be seen within 45 minutes hence no need to stay. If required, arrangement can be made in the school.
Food Facility :
      At Palghar hotels are available.
Drinking Water Facility :
      Not available on fort.
Marathi Version   Print

Forts in the District of Thane
 Ajoba  Arnala  Asherigad  Balwantgad
 Belapur Fort  Bhairavgad(Moroshi)  Bhandardurg  Bhavangad
 Bhupatgad  Chanderi  Danda Fort  Darya Ghat
 Dharavi Fort  Durgadi Fort  Gambhirgad  Ghodbunder Fort
 Ghotawada Fort (Gotara)  Gorakhgad  Irshalgad  Kaldurg
 Kamandurg  Kelve Fort  Kelve Pankot  Kohoj
 Mahim Fort ( Kelve - Mahim)  Mahuli  Malanggad  Nagla Bunder Fort
 Pimplas Kot  Shirgaon  Sidhhagad  Tahuli
 Takmak  Tandulwadi  Vajragad (Vasai)  Vasai