Fort Name :  Alphabetically RangeWise DistrictWise CategoryWise GradeWise

Pimpla FortHeight : 3707
Type : Hill forts Fort Range : Chankapur
District : Nashik Grade : Medium
This fort is well known for its two needle holes, one of which is the biggest in Maharashtra. Pimpla or Kandala/Kandana fort is located in the Kalwan taluka of Nashik district and although its name is Pimpla, itís far from the village of Pimpla. The base village of this fort is Malgaon Budruk.
20 Photos available for this fort
Fascinating Spots :

      There are 3 ways to reach the fort. One from Pimpla village, second from Malgaon village and third from Vatode village. The route from Malgaon is comparatively easy and well in use. A path from the main road of this village goes towards the small dam and it takes about 15 minutes to reach here. One can reach here by a private vehicle too. The path is very next to the dam and beyond which is the ridge of a mountain. The point where the dam wall meets the path, there is a route to the left which takes us to the ridge of the mountain. After a 30 minutes hike on this route we come to a flat ground from where we can see Pimpla fort. The rock wall which is spread in south-north direction has the needle eye of the fort. While climbing from Malgaon, we canít see the needle eye unless we reach the fort.

15 minutes walk from the open ground takes us to the base of the hill of the fort. From here, a bit steep hike for 15 minutes till we reach the rock wall which is spread in East-West direction, a path which is below the rock wall, turns to the right. As we move ahead on this path, keeping the mountain to our left and the valley to out right, we come across a point where the two rock walls meet. Next to it is the needle eye of the fort on the Soutn-North spread rock wall. There is a steep path going towards this needle eye. It takes about 1 hour 30 minutes to reach the needle eye from the base. On the lower side of the needle to the right, there are 3 rock cut water tanks. Above this there is a naturally formed cave and it is estimated that it may soon turn into another needle eye due to rock and soil erosion.

After this, one can enter the needle eye to experience the amazing view and soothing winds. Going forward from the needle eye to the left, we can see the two rock walls meeting. From this pass is the route to ascend the fort. After climbing here and once we reach the top, there are 3 rock cut water tanks which are now dried. Salher fort is visible from the top. After this, head back to the needle eye and cross it, where there is another route which circumvents the two rock walls and leads us to the needle eye again. On this route, we come across a wall which has been reinforced with cement plaster and has a painting of a goddess on it. Behind this there is a scripture carved in rock. The route coming from Pimpla village joins here.
Ways To Reach :
      One has to reach Nashik from where there are two routes to reach the base village of Malgaon.

1. On the Nashik - Vani Dindori road Malgaon can be reached by Nanduri - Kanashi - Chinchpada - Malgaon route which is about 238 kms.

2. Reach Kalwan via Devla on the Nashik - Satana road. From Kalwan transport is available to reach Malgaon which is 250 kms.

There are 3 routes to reach the fort:-

1. From Pimpla village the fort is very far and is not visible. One has to cross a hill and an open plateau to reach the fort base. It takes about 3 hrs 30 minutes by this route to reach the fort top.

2. From Vatode village it takes about 3 hours to reach the fort. Buses are available from Satana to reach Vatode.

3. From Malgaon it takes about 2 hours to reach the fort.

Accommodation Facility :
      The cave on the fort can accommodate up to 10 people.
Food Facility :
Drinking Water Facility :
Best Season To Visit :
      July to March
Marathi Version   Print

Forts of Category: Hill forts
 Aad  Achala  Aguada  Ahivant
 Ajinkyatara  Ajmera  Ajoba  Alang
 Ambagad  Anghai  Anjaneri  Ankai
 Antoor  Arjungad  Asawa  Asherigad
 Aundha  Avchitgad  Ballalgad  Balwantgad
 Banda Fort  Bankot  Barvai  Bhagwantgad
 Bhairavgad(kothale)  Bhairavgad(Moroshi)  Bhandardurg  Bhangsigad(Bhangsi mata gad)
 Bharatgad  Bhaskargad  Bhavangad  Bhavanigad
 Bhilai Fort  Bhimashankar  Bhivagad  Bhivgad(Bhimgad)
 Bhorgiri  Bhudargad  Bhupalgad (Banurgad)  Bhupatgad
 Bhushangad  Birwadi  Bishta  Bitangad
 Chambhargad  Chandan-Vandan  Chanderi  Chandragad to Arthur seat
 Chandragad(Dhavalgad)  Chapora Fort  Chaulher  Chavand
 Darya Ghat  Dasgaon Fort  Dategad  Daulatmangal
 Dehergad (Bhorgad)  Dermal  Devgiri (Daulatabad)  Dhak-Bahiri
 Dhakoba  Dharavi Fort  Dharmapuri  Dubergad(Dubera)
 Dundha  Durg  Durg Dhakoba  Gadgada (Ghargad)
 Gagangad  Galna  Gambhirgad  Gandharvgad
 Gavilgad  Ghangad  Gharapuri  Ghodbunder Fort
 Ghosalgad  Ghotawada Fort (Gotara)  Gopalgad  Gorakhgad
 Gorakhgad(Manmad)  Gowalkot  Gunawantgad  Hadsar
 Hanumantgad(Nimgiri)  Hanumantgad(Sindhudurg)  Hargad  Harihar
 Harishchandragad  Hatgad  Hatkeshwar to Lenyadri  Honnur Fort
 Indragad  Indrai  Irshalgad  Jangli Jaigad
 Janjala (Vaishagad)  Jawlya  Jivdhan  Kailasgad
 Kakati Fort  Kaladgad  Kalanidhigad (Kalanandigad)  Kaldurg
 Kalsubai  Kalyangad(Nandgiri)  Kamalgad  Kamandurg
 Kanchan  Kanhergad(Nashik)  Kankrala  Karha
 Karnala  Katra  Kavnai  Kenjalgad
 Khairai  Kharepatan fort  Kohoj  Kokandiva
 Koldurg  Kolkewadi  Kondhavi  Korigad
 Kulang  Kunjargad(Kombadgad)  Kurdugad  Laling
 Lingana  Lohgad  Madangad  Madhu makarandgad
 Mahadevgad  Mahimangad  Mahimatgad  Mahipalgad
 Mahipatgad  Mahuli  Malanggad  Malhargad
 Mandangad  Mangad  Mangalgad  Mangi-Tungi
 Manikdurg  Manikgad  Manikpunj  Manjarsubha Fort
 Manohar-Mansantoshgad  Markandeya  Mirgad(Songir)  Mohandar(Shidaka)
 Mohangad  Moragad  Mordhan  Morgiri
 Mrugagad  Mulher  Nagardhan  Nagla Bunder Fort
 Naneghat  Narayangad  Narayangad(Amboli)  Narnala
 Nhavigad  Nimgiri  Nivati Fort  Pabargad
 Pachhapur Fort  Padargad  Pal Fort  Palashi Fort
 Palgad  Pandavgad  Panhaledurg  Panhalekaji Fort
 Panhalgad  Pardi Fort  Pargad  Parnera Fort
 Parvatgad  Pateshwar  Peb  Pemgiri(Shahagad)
 Peth (Kothaligad)  Piliv Fort  Pimpla  Pimplas Kot
 Pisol  Plus Valley  Prabalgad  Pratapgad
 Premgiri  Purandar  Raigad  Raikot
 Raireshwar  Rajapur Fort (British warehouse)  Rajdeher  Rajdher
 Rajgad  Rajhansgad (Yellur Fort)  Rajmachi  Ramdurg
 Ramgad  Ramshej  Ramtek  Ranjangiri
 Rasalgad  Ratangad  Ratangad(Ratnadurg)  Ratnadurg
 Rawlya  Rawlya - Jawlya  Riwa Fort  Rohida
 Rohilgad  Sada Fort  Sadashivgad  Sagargad
 Sajjangad  Salher  Salota  Samangad
 Samrajgad  Sandan Valley - Karoli Ghat  Santoshgad  Saptashrungi
 Sarasgad  Sewri Fort  Shivgad  Shivneri
 ShivtharGhal  Siddhagad (Malvan)  Sidhhagad  Sinhagad
 Sitabuldi fort(Sitabardi Fort)  Sondai  Songad  Songir (Dhule)
 Songir (Karjat)  Songiri (near Roha)  Sudhagad  Sumargad
 Tahuli  Takmak  Talgad  Tandulwadi
 Terekhol Fort  Thalner  Tikona  Torna
 Trimbakgad  Tringalwadi  Tung  Udgir
 Umberkhind  Vairatgad  Vajragad (Vasai)  Vallabhgad(Hargapur)
 Vardhangad  Varugad  Vasantgad  Vetalgad
 Vetalwadi Gad  Vilasgad (Mallikarjun)  Visapur  Vishalgad