Fort Name :  Alphabetically RangeWise DistrictWise CategoryWise GradeWise

Sewri Fort FortHeight : 197
Type : Hill forts Fort Range : Nil
District : Mumbai Grade : Easiest
      Historical records state that the city of Mumbai comprising of seven islands had human settlements right from the Stone age period. The first official mention of Mumbai was made by the Egyptian Geography scholar Tomly in the year A.D 150. During the Satvahana era there was an existent foreign trade from Mumbai. During the 5th and 6th century the Mauryas ruled this city and had their capital at Gharapuri i.e. the Elephanta island near Mumbai.

After thet Mauryas, Chalukyas, Rashtrakuts, Shilahar, Yadavs ruled this region. In the year 1140, king Pratapbimb of Gurajat province defeated the Shilahars and established his capital at Mahikavti which is currently known as Mahim in Mumbai. Sultan Mubarak Shah of Gujarat won Mumbai in 1320 and the last Sultan of Gujarat, Bahadurshah handed over Mumbai, Sashti islands and Vasai islands to the Portuguese as per the pact of 1534. When Prince Chales II of England married the royal daughter of Portuguese Ms. Braganz in 1662, the Portuguese gifted Mumbai islands to the British.
A total of 11 forts were built in Mumbai viz; Bandra, Mahim, Worli, kala killa, Rewa, Sion, Sewri, Mazgaon, Dongri, St. George and Bombay fort. Bombay fort, Mazgaon and Dongri forts are non-existent today.
10 Photos available for this fort
Sewri Fort
History :
      To protect the eastern sea front of Mumbai the forts of St. George, Dongri, Mazgaon, Sewri were built. Bahadur khan built the shrine near the main door under his regime. When the Portuguese took over the fort as per the pact of 1534 they refurbished the entire place. After the Siddi of Janjira attacked Mumbai, the British rulers strengthened all the existing forts in Mumbai and also added some new forts. This fort which vests in the Eastern part of the Parel island was refurbished and strengthened by the British in the year 1680.

When the Siddi of Janjira, Yakut Khan attacked Mumbai he captured the forts of Sewri, Mazgaon and Mahim. At that time there were around 50 soldiers, 1 subhedar and 10 canons on Sewri fort.

This fort was used for many purposes. In the earlier times it served as a watch tower for guarding the trade between Panvel, Uran, Thane and Gharapuri region. After that the British used it as a prison and later the Bombay Port Trust made its warehouse here.
Fascinating Spots :
      This fort still stands in a good condition due to regular maintenance by the Archaeological Society of India. The approach steps of the fort take us to the shrine of Sayyed Jalal Shah. Once entering the main door we come across two structures with semi circled roofs. These were used as prisons and warehouse. The bastions of the fort are in a triangle shape. One can climb the fort wall by the steps built in it.
Ways To Reach :
      Sewri fort is located to the west side of Sewri railway station on the Harbour railway route of Mumbai. Hop out of the platform no 2 of Sewri station and head towards Colgate Palmolive Company. This route will take you to the base of the fort in about 10 minutes. There are proper steps built for access to the fort. The backdrop of the fort to the sea side which is a marshy land tends to be a paradise for Flamingo and other migratory birds. December to April is the peak season when these migratory birds arrive here.
Marathi Version   Print

Forts of Category: Hill forts
 Aad  Achala  Ahivant  Ajinkyatara
 Ajmera  Ajoba  Alang  Anjaneri
 Ankai  Arjungad  Asherigad  Aundha
 Avchitgad  Ballalgad  Balwantgad  Banda Fort
 Bankot  Barvai  Bhagwantgad  Bhairavgad(kothale)
 Bhairavgad(Moroshi)  Bhandardurg  Bhangsigad(Bhangsi mata gad)  Bharatgad
 Bhaskargad  Bhavangad  Bhavanigad  Bhilai Fort
 Bhimashankar  Bhivgad(Bhimgad)  Bhorgiri  Bhudargad
 Bhupalgad (Banurgad)  Bhupatgad  Bhushangad  Birwadi
 Bishta  Bitangad  Chambhargad  Chandan-Vandan
 Chanderi  Chandragad to Arthur seat  Chandragad(Dhavalgad)  Chaulher
 Chavand  Dasgaon Fort  Dategad  Daulatmangal
 Dehergad (Bhorgad)  Dermal  Devgiri (Daulatabad)  Dhak-Bahiri
 Dhakoba  Dharavi Fort  Dharmapuri  Dubergad(Dubera)
 Dundha  Durg  Durg Dhakoba  Gadgada (Ghargad)
 Gagangad  Galna  Gambhirgad  Gandharvgad
 Gavilgad  Ghangad  Gharapuri  Ghodbunder Fort
 Ghosalgad  Ghotawada Fort (Gotara)  Gopalgad  Gorakhgad
 Gorakhgad(Manmad)  Gowalkot  Gunawantgad  Hadsar
 Hanumantgad  Hanumantgad(Nimgiri)  Hargad  Harihar
 Harishchandragad  Hatgad  Hatkeshwar to Lenyadri  Honnur Fort
 Indragad  Indrai  Irshalgad  Jangli Jaigad
 Janjala (Vaishagad)  Jawlya  Jivdhan  Kailasgad
 Kakati Fort  Kaladgad  Kalanidhigad (Kalanandigad)  Kaldurg
 Kalsubai  Kalyangad(Nandgiri)  Kamalgad  Kamandurg
 Kanchan  Kanhergad  Kankrala  Karha
 Karnala  Katra  Kavnai  Kenjalgad
 Khairai  Kharepatan fort  Kohoj  Kokandiva
 Koldurg  Kolkewadi  Kondhavi  Korigad
 Kulang  Kunjargad(Kombadgad)  Kurdugad  Laling
 Lingana  Lohgad  Madangad  Mahadevgad
 Mahimangad  Mahimatgad  Mahipalgad  Mahipatgad
 Mahuli  Malanggad  Malhargad  Mandangad
 Mangad  Mangalgad  Mangi-Tungi  Manikdurg
 Manikpunj  Markandeya  Mirgad(Songir)  Mohandar(Shidaka)
 Mohangad  Moragad  Mordhan  Morgiri
 Mrugagad  Mulher  Nagardhan  Nagla Bunder Fort
 Naneghat  Narayangad  Narayangad(Amboli)  Narnala
 Nhavigad  Nimgiri  Nivati Fort  Pabargad
 Pachhapur Fort  Padargad  Padmadurg ( Kasa Killa)  Palashi Fort
 Palgad  Pandavgad  Panhaledurg  Panhalekaji Fort
 Panhalgad  Pardi Fort  Pargad  Parnera Fort
 Parvatgad  Pateshwar  Peb  Pemgiri(Shahagad)
 Peth (Kothaligad)  Piliv Fort  Pimplas Kot  Pisol
 Plus Valley  Prabalgad  Pratapgad  Premgiri
 Purandar  Raigad  Raikot  Raireshwar
 Rajapur Fort (British warehouse)  Rajdeher  Rajdher  Rajgad
 Rajhansgad (Yellur Fort)  Rajmachi  Ramdurg  Ramgad
 Ramshej  Ramtek  Ranjangiri  Rasalgad
 Ratangad  Ratangad(Ratnadurg)  Ratnadurg  Rawlya
 Rawlya - Jawlya  Riwa Fort  Rohida  Rohilgad
 Sada Fort  Sadashivgad  Sagargad  Sajjangad
 Salher  Salota  Samangad  Samrajgad
 Sandan Valley - Karoli Ghat  Santoshgad  Saptashrungi  Sarasgad
 Sewri Fort  Shivgad  Shivneri  ShivtharGhal
 Siddhagad (Malvan)  Sidhhagad  Sinhagad  Sondai
 Songad  Songir (Dhule)  Songir (Karjat)  Songiri (near Roha)
 Sudhagad  Sumargad  Tahuli  Takmak
 Talgad  Tandulwadi  Terekhol Fort  Thalner
 Tikona  Torna  Trimbakgad  Tringalwadi
 Tung  Umberkhind  Vairatgad  Vajragad (Vasai)
 Vallabhgad(Hargapur)  Vardhangad  Varugad  Vasantgad
 Vetalgad  Vetalwadi Gad  Vilasgad (Mallikarjun)  Visapur
 Yashawantgad (Redi Fort)  Yashwantgad(Nate)